

DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Telephone: 1-800-321-9973

Web: www.westernwayne.org

Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools

CYNTHIA A. LaROSA, Ph.D. Assistant Superintendent

ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

MINUTES WORKPLACE SAFETY COMMITTEE MEETING July 3, 2024

The regular monthly meeting of the Workplace Safety Committee was held on July 3, 2024, in the Board Room of the District Office and via ZOOM.

The following seven members participated as follows: Megan Robinson, Brian Seaman (via zoom), Ron Franks, Denise Johnson (via Zoom), Ellen Muller (via zoom), Naomi Spewak (via Zoom), and Stephen Mackle. Amanda Steinmetz and Mindy Maros were excused.

Meeting

The meeting was called to order by Megan Robinson at 10:00 AM.

Minutes

A motion was made by Naomi Spewak and seconded by Ron Franks to approve the minutes of May, and June 2024. The motion carried.

Old Business

None.

Report on condition of buildings

RDW - Okay. Summer cleaning. Stairway thread is being replaced.

EG - We will be ordering the elevator keys.

MS - Okay. Summer cleaning.

HS - Okay. Summer cleaning.

DO - Okay.

New Business

Injury Reports – Teacher at RDW sprained ankle while at field day with students. Teacher was
participating in a game. No action is required. A custodian at HS slipped and fell on stripping
chemical that was on the floor. The custodian was warned by other staff of the chemical but had
ear buds in. Committee discussed if there was a policy on ear buds and if there should be one.
This will need to be reviewed farther.

BOARD OF EDUCATION

William Gershey, President Joseph Gombita, Vice President Dana DeSiato, Treasurer Angela Booths, James Collins, Christina Hinz, Michael Ochkin, Kerin Weinberger, Ethan Wood



DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Felephone: 1-800-321-9973 Web: www.westernwayne.org

Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools

CYNTHIA A. LaROSA, Ph.D. Assistant Superintendent

ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

At this time, the Committee discussed the vacancy to the committee. Amanda Steinmetz has
resigned from the Committee due to resignation from the school district. New Committee
member will be the person who is hired to fill the Administrative Assistant to the
Superintendent position.

Future Meeting

The August meeting is scheduled for August 7, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. and will be at the District Office conference room.

Adjournment

Stephen Mackle moved to adjourn the meeting and Denise Johnson seconded the motion at 10:15 AM.

The motion carried.

/s/ Megan Robinson

Megan Robinson Vice Chairperson Workplace Safety Committee

BOARD OF EDUCATION

William Gershey, President Joseph Gombita, Vice President Dana DeSiato, Treasurer Angela Booths, James Collins, Christina Hinz, Michael Ochfan, Kerin Weinberger, Ethan Wood