

# DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Telephone: 1-800-321-9973

Web: www.westernwayne.org

### Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools CYNTHIA A. LaROSA, Ph.D. Assistant Superintendent ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

# MINUTES WORKPLACE SAFETY COMMITTEE MEETING Thursday, June 9, 2022

The regular monthly meeting of the Workplace Safety Committee was held on Thursday, June 9, 2022 in the Conference Room at Robert D. Wilson Elementary School and via phone.

The following seven (7) members participated as follows: Susan Romanski, Denise Johnson, Erica Germani, Ellen Muller, Alene Olsommer, Brian Seaman, and Paul Semler. The following were absent from the meeting: Jennifer Keating, Paul Gregorski, Brian Landry, and David Robinson.

# Meeting

The meeting was called to order by Susan Romanski at 8:07 AM.

# Minutes

A motion was made by Ellen Muller and seconded by Denise Johnson to approve the minutes of the May 26, 2022 meeting. The motion carried with all ayes.

# **Old Business**

There was one item of old business. A classroom floor that had been reported by Alene Olsommer as a trip hazard due to tape covering the floor in a high school classroom. This has been corrected.

# **Report on condition of buildings**

RDW – Building tour to be completed today.

EG – Ok

MS – Ok

HS – Ok- question from Paul Semler about locking/unlocking the doors in the high school library that lead out into the courtyard. Paul will talk to Matt Barrett about this security situation. DO - ok

# **New Business**

- Injury Reports The one staff member that was on Worker's Compensation due to a slip/fall was reported by Ellen Muller to have returned to work.
- Email Reports There were no email reports at this time.

# **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

Rick Hoch, President Dana DeSiato, Vice President Jeffrey Gogolski, Treasurer James Collins, Gary Enslin, William Gershey, Joseph Gombita, Michael Ochlan, Ethan Wood



# DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Telephone: 1-800-321-9973

#### Web: www.westernwayne.org

#### Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools CYNTHIA A. LaROSA, Ph.D. Assistant Superintendent

ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

- Changing members and duties of the Committee was discussed due to members that have not been participating in the meetings. Further discussion will be held on this matter.
- The Committee would like to invite former member Susan Pauler, Food Service Secretary to rejoin the Committee and to ask Ron Franks, Maintenance Supervisor to replace retiring member David Robinson. The Committee will reach out to these individuals.

## **Building Tour**

At this time, members of the Committee toured the Robert D. Wilson Elementary building. Erica Germani showed the Committee the rusted portion of the cinder shed that is outside by the parking lot. This has been discussed at previous meetings. Custodian Warren Brundage showed the members the old Cafeteria tables that are chipped and worn. Principal Maria Miller informed the Committee of a slip and fall of a PTA member when there were not adequate "Wet Floor" signs posted. Paul Semler noted that there should be locks on the upstairs doors. The Committee also questioned whether there should be glass film on the outside entrance doors for security. Head Cook Maria Palko showed the Committee the kitchen which has been cleaned and closed for the summer. Maria noted that the Freezer doors are original to the building and are being replaced. The building was in good condition. The Committee will follow up on these items.

### **Future Meeting**

The July meeting will be held at District office at a time and place to be determined.

## Adjournment

Denise Johnson made a motion seconded by Brian Seaman to adjourn the meeting of the Workplace Safety Committee meeting at 9:15 AM.

The motion carried with all affirmative.

Susan Romanski Secretary Workplace Safety Committee

### **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

Rick Hoch, President Dana DeSiato, Vice President Jeffrey Gogolski, Treasurer James Collins, Gary Enslin, William Gershey, Joseph Gombita, Michael Ochlan, Ethan Wood