

# DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Telephone: 1-800-321-9973 Web: www.westernwayne.org

Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools

ELLEN M. FALISKIE
Assistant Superintendent

ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

# MINUTES WORKPLACE SAFETY COMMITTEE MEETING Thursday, September 21, 2017

The regular monthly meeting of the Workplace Safety Committee was held on Thursday, September 21, 2017 in the conference room of the District Office.

The meeting was called to order by Jennifer Keating at 9:08 AM.

Susan Romanski took roll call: Seven (7) members were present as follows: Jennifer Keating, Susan Romanski, Paul Gregorski, Denise Johnson, Brian Landry, Ellen Muller, and Brian Seaman. Warren Brundage, Maria Palko, and Dave Robinson were excused. Alene Olsommer was absent.

## **Approval of Minutes**

A motion was made by Ellen Muller and seconded by Brian Seaman to approve the minutes of the August 30, 2017 meeting. The motion carried with all affirmatives.

## **Old Business**

Discussion was held on old business. Robert D. Wilson Elementary school has the light that is still waiting to be delivered and they are still working on the air conditioning. The air/mold issue has been resolved.

## **Report on Condition of Buildings**

All buildings were reported ok.

New this school year, dialing 3911 will be a Safety Emergency Code throughout the buildings. Brian Landry also reported that he has ordered a new pipe for the air compressor in the shop so they will be in compliance.

Warren Brundage had reported that the Eye Wash solution in the various buildings will be expiring in November 2017. New kits will be ordered and distributed to the buildings.

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

Donald Olsommer Jr., President Donald McDonough, Vice President Jeffrey Gogolski, Treasurer Gary Enslin, Bernice Fiorella, Andrew Gaudenzi, Rick Hoch, William Gershey, Roger Shaffer, Jr.



# DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Telephone: 1-800-321-9973 Web: www.westernwayne.org

Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools

ELLEN M. FALISKIE
Assistant Superintendent

ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

Denise Johnson is coordinating the Flu Shots for all employees with Brundage Pharmacy in Waymart.

#### **New Business**

Injury Reports – Jennifer Keating reported that there were two injury reports. One employee slipped, fell, and broke an ankle and another employee threw their back out. Floor conditions were checked to make sure adequate floor mats were in place since it was a rainy day and newly finished floors.

Email Reports – The Committee received one email with concern about the new bell system in the high school being too low and hard to hear. Denise Johnson confirmed that the bells are very low and hard to hear and hard to differentiate between the passing bell and the announcement bell. Brian Seaman said he would look into it and try to resolve this issue.

Discussion was held about touring the school buildings now that construction has finished.

The October meeting will be on October 12, 2017 in the middle school with a tour of the middle school and possibly high school following the meeting.

## **Adjournment**

Susan Romanski made a motion seconded by Denise Johnson to adjourn the meeting of the Workplace Safety Committee at 9:32 AM.

The motion carried with all affirmative.

Susan Romanski Secretary Workplace Committee

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

Donald Olsommer Jr., President Donald McDonough, Vice President Jeffrey Gogolski, Treasurer Gary Enslin, Bernice Fiorella, Andrew Gaudenzi, Rick Hoch, William Gershey, Roger Shaffer, Jr.



# DISTRICT OFFICE

1970c Easton Turnpike Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania 18436

Telephone: 1-800-321-9973

Web: www.westernwayne.org

Fax: (570) 341-1221

MATTHEW BARRETT, Ed. D. Superintendent of Schools

ELLEN M. FALISKIE
Assistant Superintendent

ROSE E. EMMETT Business Manager / Board Secretary

## **BOARD OF EDUCATION**

Donald Olsommer Jr., President Donald McDonough, Vice President Jeffrey Gogolski, Treasurer Gary Enslin, Bernice Fiorella, Andrew Gaudenzi, Rick Hoch, William Gershey, Roger Shaffer, Jr.